Shika no Ou


Van is the leader of Lone Horn, a group of soldiers on a hopeless mission to defend their country from the encroaching empire. Van had expected to die in the war, but somehow he ends up a prisoner, chained with other slaves in a salt mine.

A sudden vicious attack interrupts this hopeless existence. Wild dogs with strange skill and purpose race through the mine attacking everyone in it. Van defends himself, but he too is bitten. The dog runs off; but the bite carries an infection.

When Van regains consciousness, apparently some days later, he finds that all his fellow prisoners are dead. Breaking free of his chains he searches the camp. The guards, prisoners and other workers are all dead. But in one hut, a woman had died hiding her baby daughter from the dogs.

With this little girl, whom he calls Yuna, Van sets off out of the camp.

Romaji Title: | Shika no Ou |
Japanese Title: | 鹿の王 |
English Title: | The Deer King |
Author: 上橋菜穂子 | Nahoko Uehashi
Source for description: Nigel Holmes

Volume 1

── Eggs of the <Shining Leaf> ── (ED: ApoWo)


Chapter 1: Survivors


1 – Bitten (ED: ApoWo)
2 – Encounter (ED: ApoWo)
3 – Light within the Ash (ED: ApoWo)
4 – Leaving the Salt Mine (ED: ApoWo)
5 – Puyka Within the Mist (ED: ApoWo)
6 – Ritual of Love (ED: ApoWo)


Chapter 2: Terrifying Legendary Illness


1 – Devil’s Child (ED: ApoWo)
2 – Into the Salt Mine (ED: ApoWo)
3 – History of the Illness (ED: ApoWo)
4 – Underground Streams (ED: ApoWo)
5 – Molpha Village (ED: ApoWo)
6 – Chase (ED: ApoWo)
7 – Vanishing in the Snow (ED: ApoWo)


Chapter 3: At the Reindeer’s Village


1 – Winter Preparations (ED: ApoWo)
2 – Mohoki (ED: ApoWo)
3 – Yuna (ED: ApoWo)
4 – In the Early Summer’s Forest (ED: ApoWo)
5 – Summer’s Light (ED: ApoWo)
6 – As Golden Light Filters through the Trees (ED: ApoWo)


Chapter 4: Black Wolf Fever


1 – A Hunt before the Lords (ED: ApoWo)
2 – Raid of the Black Dogs (ED: ApoWo)
3 – Two Medical Philosophies (ED: ApoWo)
4 – At the Mansion of King Akafah (ED: ApoWo)
5 – Outbreak (ED: ApoWo)
6 – Tough Fight against the Illness (ED: ApoWo)
7 – New Medicine (ED: ApoWo)
8 – Overreaction (ED: ApoWo)
9 – Akafah’s Curse (ED: ApoWo)


Chapter 5: ReversalOzpha


1 – Rumors (ED: ApoWo)
2 – Change (ED: ApoWo)
3 – Raven (ED: ApoWo)
4 – The Messenger with the  <Glossy Feathers> (ED: ApoWo)
5 – The Woman Inside the Hot Bath (ED: ApoWo)
6 – Tree Spirit Lord (ED: ApoWo)
7 – On My Back, My Child (ED: ApoWo)
8 – Fire Arrow, Pierce the Darkness (ED: ApoWo)


Chapter 6: Tracking the Black Wolf Fever


1 – Stepmother and Stepsister (ED: ApoWo)
2 – Tomasol (ED: ApoWo)
3 – The Supervisor of Inner (ED: ApoWo)
4 – Immigration Areas Devastated by Winter (ED: ApoWo)
5 – Poisonous Wheat (ED: ApoWo)
6 – Makokan’s Birthplace



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.